Hindu Mommy

August 24, 2006

Pluto no longer a planet but Vedic astrology will stay the same.

Filed under: Hinduism,India — hindumommy @ 10:28 pm

The astronomical world had a highly contentious week with lots of debate and have finally decided that Pluto is no longer fit to be a planet – it has been officially downgraded to a dwarf planet today

So everyone’s perception of space has changed and science teachers are scrambling to get ready to teach kids the latest in space. 

You would think this would radically change Vedic astrology – instead of ‘navagraha” (nine planets) we have “asthagraha” (eight planets).

But for believers in Vedic astrology, there’s no cause for concern. Not even if the resolution proposed at the International Astronomical Union is passed and three new planets — 2003 UB313 (Xena), Charon, Ceres —are ‘born’. The addition of three new celestial bodies won’t make our ruling planets go haywire.

Explains astrologer Sunita Chhabra,

“Vedic astrology has never considered planets beyond Saturn. Uranus, Neptune and Pluto aren’t counted in the vedic astrology.” Though one of the new ‘planets’, Ceres, lies between Mars and Jupiter, it’s unlikely to be counted for predictions.

Hmmm – This make sense to anyone else??


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: