Hindu Mommy

November 7, 2006

California Proposition 85 – What do you feel about this as a parent?

Filed under: Kids,Parenting — hindumommy @ 12:19 am

At tomorrow’s elections there is a Proposition that requires notification of the parent or legal guardian of an unemancipated pregnant minor at least 48 hours before performing an abortion

According to some it will jeopardize the teens in abusive homes. This will force them to get abortions in a back alley or make the rounds in an already over crowded justice system because the option of  letting their parents know is worse.

As a parent I feel torn.  It is such a gut wrenching decision….

I want them to come to me if such a situation ever arises BUT she should trust me enough to come to me on her own. BUT I would really hate for her to go thru something like this on her own and it would only be to her benefit if she was forced to tell me…….(Can you tell that I am confused?)

We know that 16 year olds are ready to drive a car but are they ready to decide about their future?

Luckily for me, I still have lots of years before I even have to contemplate the possibility ….and like all parents I am hoping this scenario never happens…

It seems all this attempt at legislation is a sign of a bigger problem. Legislation cannot replace the breakdown in family relationships and the lack of communication between parents and kids – something that cannot be fixed by any government or law.

What are your views , as a parent? Would you like to be informed?

For more information to decide go to www.noon85.com  and www.yeson85.net

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

