Hindu Mommy

December 12, 2006

Copying…the cheapest form of flattery?

Filed under: General Stuff,India — hindumommy @ 4:54 pm

Yesterday, I found out that a company listed on NASDAQ had been site scrapping Hindu Mommy and using it on their own site.

I was debating about whether to list the name of the company and get them more traffic from my site or not post the name and have decided to state the name of the company to increase awareness about their malpractices

The company is Web2 Corporation (NASDAQ OTCB: WBTO), which was recently acquired by perpetrators, ByIndia.

You can read more at Got Copy (This is where I first found out about it. Thanks, Manisha !)

I don’t claim to be special. I think they targeted many of the blogs created recently probably thinking that most of us new to the blogging community would be unaware of what’s going on.

My first reaction was disbelief that a big company which had a huge source of resources in terms of writers and programmers would actually sitescrape an unknown blog like mine

But then I thought “They can’t even do something like this properly…I don’t have any site scrape worthy content – Wouldn’t it be better for them if they site scrapped a better site?” 😀 😀 😀

Manisha has been actively pursuing these cases of plagiarism with the CEO of the company who says

…The content providers for our blogs need to protect our content better….

What the ??????? . As she rightly points out, the nature of internet is to have content readily available and accesible by any browser or thru bots and feeds

Read more of the CEO’s response here

Yes, I have been also guilty in the past of posting forwarded emails without any idea of who the author(s) were but have been quick to give credit where due when I was made aware of it.

I think this is a different kind of beast – All my posts are there exactly in the order I posted them – word for word. I can understand maybe if one post is a copy of what’s here at Hindu Mommy. It could be a genuine mistake or  just great minds thinking alike 😀

All my posts are copied word for word and presented by a company that wants to be the “next big internet company in India” . I wonder what kind of message the investors and the rest of the world are getting from this ..Definitely not the message that the CEO of the company wants them to get !

UPDATE – The posts are still there but not being displayed. They need to delete the blog and all the posts permanently

Manisha also has a link to a great resource – Dealing with Plagiarism – which I’ve realized is a must read for any blogger

And for anyone from Web2Corp or ByIndia reading this post – No – I am not at all flattered by all the site scrapping that has been done

3 Comments »

  1. This is simply atrocious.
    What about intellectual property rights?
    This will be big setback tor the entire blogging community.
    A strong word of protest or a legal suit will deter such acts.
    You should be paid the full compensation for the effort and creativity.
    I am really very sorry to know this!
    That too in U S A, What a shame!

    Comment by swaralu — December 12, 2006 @ 9:20 pm | Reply

  2. Even I was shocked to see my blog scraped and put up there. I also have put up a post on this and the communications director of web2corp has apologised on my blog. Here is the post.

    Comment by Polite Indian — December 14, 2006 @ 12:42 am | Reply

  3. Polite Indian: I just visited your blog and am glad that Trevor, the Communications Director has apologized on your blog. I just hope that the malicious coder has been identified and justly penalized….
    Thanks for stopping by my blog

    Regards,
    HM

    Comment by hindumommy — December 14, 2006 @ 1:21 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

