Hindu Mommy

December 30, 2006

To my fellow Princess phobics

Filed under: Kids,Parenting — hindumommy @ 12:31 am

New York Times has an article called “What’s wrong With Cinderella?” that I read yesterday and if I could write as well, I am sure the first couple of paras myself.

I have to admit that I used to not care about my girls having dolls or princesses along with other toys but nowadays it seems to me that the only toys available to them are in pink and Barbie or Princess related.

And how do I explain a white blue eyed princess to a desi brown black eyed kid?

What especially caught my eye in the NY times article was

Playing princess is not the issue,” argues Lyn Mikel Brown, an author, with Sharon Lamb, of “Packaging Girlhood: Rescuing Our Daughters From Marketers’ Schemes.” “The issue is 25,000 Princess products,” says Brown, a professor of education and human development at Colby College. “When one thing is so dominant, then it’s no longer a choice: it’s a mandate, cannibalizing all other forms of play. There’s the illusion of more choices out there for girls, but if you look around, you’ll see their choices are steadily narrowing.”

I try to buy them other stuff but what do you do when friends, teachers and relatives insist on giving them pink glittery princess? Maybe it’s a genetic “girl” program that has my girls attracted to these glittery stuff.

Anybody have any tips to help wean my girls from this Princess phase? Please let me know…….

If my girls HAVE to go thru this princess phase, then atleast I hope they turn out to be like the girl in the article – be dressed up in a gown and a tiara and then climb trees and give the boys a run for their money 😀

2 Comments »

  1. Hi, Hindu Mommy

    I haven’t read the article yet, but both my girls went through the Princess phase, followed by the dreaded “American Girl” phase and we survived! 🙂 To make things a little more real, I asked my mom to send them Indian Barbies, which, when they arrived, were so beautiful in their lovely saris and chaaniya cholis that I couldn’t bear the thought of my girls roughing them up, so after one or two days of playing I put the Barbies on the highest shelf of their room where they remain till today (my girls are now 15 and 12)! 🙂

    Comment by lotusreads — January 2, 2007 @ 2:45 pm | Reply

  2. Lotus:

    Thanks ….Your words bring me some comfort as I have been having nightmares of being surrounded in pink and princesses and Barbies
    Thank you for your idea about the Indian Barbies – I will try to get some from India

    Comment by hindumommy — January 3, 2007 @ 11:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

